Friday, 19 February 2016



A.         JSP 464 Vol 3 Part 2.
B.         A Decent Home: Definition and guidance for implementation (June 2006 – Update).
C.        Implementing Decent Homes in the Social Sector (Maggie Davidson and Justine Piddington on behalf of the BRE, February 2007).
D.        Calculating the energy performance of buildings (Notice of Approval of the methodology for expressing the energy performance of buildings in England and Wales, June 2014, DCLG).
E.         Improving the energy efficiency of our buildings (A guide to energy performance certificates for the marketing, sale and let of dwellings, April 2014, DCLG).

Following review of CAAS Challenges, Appeals and queries issued by stakeholders, the following clarifications and information should be read in conjunction with Reference A.


The condition standard is outlined at Reference A Chapter 3, and tabulated at Annex A, Table 1. The condition assessment is divided into 4 criteria; Hazards, State of Repair, Modernity and Thermal Comfort. In using the Decent Homes Standard, DIO have drawn on the guidance and reports issued by Dept for Communities and Local Govt (DCLG), notably References B & C.

Hazards – an SFA fails the Decent Home Standard (DH) and DH+ if it contains a Category 1 hazard ideintified through risk assessment (Housing Health & Safety Rating System (HHSRS)). An SFA containing a Category 2, 3 etc hazard is still Decent, and therefore will not fail the standard.  Assessment for DH+ is the same as for DH.

State of Repair – this criteria has 15 components, of which 12 are classed as ‘key (k)’ and 3 as non-key. The over riding determining factor for this Serial is that a component cannot fail on age alone, but it can fail on condition alone. If an SFA was constructed in 1920, therefore over 80 years, it can still be decent (DH/DH+) if the relevant/repair condition is met. A single key (k) component not meeting the relevant condition/repair standard will result in failure, and 2 of the 3 non-key components not meeting the standard will result in a fail. The criteria for failure is a direct ‘cut from Refernce B, and in adopting DH, MOD adoted the conditions for failure.

Modernity – this criteria has 8 tabulated components, of which 4 are listed as ‘measured’ and 4 are guidance and data collection to drive lifecycle works programming. In addition there are 2 listed components; a kitchen with adequate space and layout, and adequate insulation against external noise (where external noise is a problem), with the former measured as part of the survey process and the latter through treating noise as a Hazard. This criteria does consider age as a determining factor for pass/fail, but 3 components drawn from the 4 tablulated and 2 listed are required to force a failure. The criteria for failure is a direct ‘cut from Reference B, and in adopting DH, MOD adoted the conditions for failure. The six components of which 3 ‘fails’ are required for over all failure against this criteria are:

            a reasonably modern kitchen (20 years old or less);
a kitchen with adequate space and layout;
a reasonably modern bathroom (30 years old or less);
an appropriately located bathroom and WC;
adequate insulation against external noise (where external noise is a problem);
adequate size and layout of common areas for blocks of flats

Thermal Comfort – This criteria has a sole component for pass/fail; the SAP score. (The Standard Assessment Procedure (SAP) is the UK Government's recommended method system for measuring the energy rating of new build residential dwellings, technically for built dwellings the calculation produces the RdSAP, SAP is the common terminology). CA are mandated to follow Referecnes D & E in calculating the SAP. The numeric SAP is banded to ranges to provide an alphabetic Energy Performance Certificate (EPC) Band; the Band is quoted on the information provided to occupants. SAP is calculated using a fixed set of data against building components, but this does not include the condition of a component; for instance an SFA can have double glazed windows and measured as such, but if they are draughty with blown seals this is not considered. However, State of Repair considers this aspect, and it is incumbent on the occupant that if there is a failure of a component requiring a repair, it is reported through the CA Helpdesk. The list of components in Table 1 are provided for guidance and lifecycle programming purposes only. 
MOD licence SFA, therefore there is no legal obligation to register (at a cost) the SAP through NHER (The National Home Energy Rating Scheme (NHER)), which is why occupants when searching the NHER on line site cannot find the SAP/EPC.

SAP Componenets – the primary components ‘measured’ for the SAP process are attached.

SAP/EPC Bands as below:

Band        SAP Rating Points
 A              92-100 SAP points (Most efficient)
 B              81-91 SAP points
 C             69-80 SAP points
 D             55-68 SAP points
 E              39-54 SAP points
 F              21-38 SAP points
 G             1-20 SAP points (Least efficient)

The technical refernce document is The Government’s Standard Assessment Procedure for Energy Rating of Dwellings dated October 2013, available at